Ichidan and Okurigana Rule

I noticed the other day that verbs whose okurigana ends in -iru or -eru are all ichidan, this appears to hold consistently for nearly 300 of the verbs present in WaniKani. The only exception I found was 交じる/混じる.
Is this a real rule? Are there others like it?

2 Likes

I’m a noob so sorry everyone if I say something dumb, but from what I’ve read: yes it’s a real rule… kind of.

Basically if a verb ends with something OTHER than -iru or -eru, it can’t be an ichidan verb. It must be a godan verb (or one of the special verbs, suru or kuru). So at least that part is easy.

But if it does end with -iru or -eru, it could be an ichidan verb… ooorr it could still be a godan verb anyway.

走る for example ends with -iru, but it’s a godan verb.

To be fair, from what I’ve encountered it seems like most -iru and -eru verbs are ichidan verbs. But there are enough exceptions to keep me on my toes. The only way to be able to tell what’s an exception seems to just be straight memorization.

1 Like

Yeah, yeah, but that’s the stem. I’m talking about the okurigana, like in 食べる and 信じる. Those seem to be 99.99% consistent.

1 Like

Ohhh, maybe :eyes: That could explain why 調(しら)べる and (しゃべ)る which at first glance seem very similar, are ichidan and godan, respectively.

2 Likes

Ohhh I see what you mean - I missed that before, sorry. When I did some googling on ichidan/godan verbs recently I didn’t see anything that mentioned that. I only ever found “sorry, there’s no way to be sure” answers. I feel like they would bring that up… but I certainly don’t know enough to say no.