How to best use SRS?

Hello. I just realized that I’m not really sure how to work using SRS. All this time while waiting for my reviews, I would once again go over what I’ve “learned” before. Now that I think about it… it looks like I shouldn’t be doing it?

That made me think of something else. Recently I started studying with Anki, but what if in the deck that I am using, some vocab comes at a time that does not match with the time that I should be reviewing it according to the WaniKani algorithm? Will it undermine the progress on that vocab that I’ve made so far?

So far I didn’t notice such a thing but I am only at level 3 so there is not that much to remember. I worry that if I were to continue with my approach going to the higher levels it would have a negative effect.

Is it ok to study vocab and kanji with different methods at different times? Or is it better to stick to one resource? Even if I were to for example use only WaniKani for SRS - the vocab would for sure come up in books that I’m studying with.

English is not my first language so I feel like I need to give every single vocab more attention to make it stick in my memory for good. That’s why I would visit it outside of the designated time to read mnemonics and stuff like that.

I’m confused about how to proceed from now on.

Has anyone had similar concerns and/or can make it a bit clearer for me?

2 Likes

Generally speaking, it’s bad to purposefully study something shortly before it comes up for review, but it’s okay to naturally encounter it.