An Overview of Net Safety

Before I begin, there are a few things that I want to get out of the way:

1. I am just a user of WaniKani. I am not staff, nor am I a moderator or admin.
  2. I am not an expert in Internet Safety. I am just a guy who spends too much time at his computer. If you have any contributions or corrections, you can send them to me here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/C5FP3QY
    I will sanitize as much personal information as I can before inclusion, but please, use caution, and try not to send me anything personal or identifying. Also, please don’t abuse my trust and send me your Koichi/Viet slash fic.
  3. Everything here applies to me as well. I AM A STRANGER ON THE INTERNET, AND NOT TO BE TRUSTED.

Now, the WaniKani community is generally a pretty good, safe space for people. However, that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t use a good amount of caution. Put simply, people can lie about who they are, and their intentions, and there is no way to figure out the truth online. It’s also important to realize that there are more lurkers (people who read, but don’t post) than posters in any community, and they have just as much access to what you post.

1. Avoid posting any personal information. Things you absolutely should not post are things like your full name (or anything particularly distinctive), and your address. Remember, every piece of personal information you make public makes it easier for someone to track down who you are. If you go to school, things like where, or what the Sportsball team name is can narrow down your identity. Long story short; if you wouldn’t give it to the creepy guy who hangs around the adult video store, don’t give it to us.