10 years of WanKani

I rarely log in here anymore but I saw I had some new reviews today and was on my computer when I got the notification. I usually do them on my phone but decided to use the website. It’s been really long since I used the website to do reviews. Items are added infrequently now and I don’t really have any goals left here since I burned everything aside from the new stuff added last year.

I forgot how much I enjoyed doing WaniKani when I first started learning 10 years ago. It was one of the first things I used to study when I started learning Japanese and it made me really interested in kanji. An interest I still have today and which led me to studying for kanken. Really wish I could go back to the beginning and experience learning everything for the first time since most of the magic is gone now, but I still try to remember and look for that sense of wonder in my studying now.

Thanks for everything WaniKani, but I really don’t think I will be here for the next 10 years. After these current items are burned I’m going to call it quits. (Unless WaniKani adds significantly more levels geared to the few people studying for kanken).

35 Likes

I’ve been in the weeds of the late 50s for the past couple of weeks.

I can barely remember how excited I used to be, but I remember just being excited to be learning things. The last levels are a real slog for me honestly. I hope to get to more than 90% burned by august, but this is probably my last year visiting and burning things on WaniKani. I’ve mostly transitioned to native content learning 100%.

5 Likes