自己紹介 (Self Introduction)

Hi all! I’m new here, I just started this week. I’m going crazy because there’s not a lot to do this first week and all I want to do is study! So - I figured I’d introduce myself to the community.

I’ve been studying Japanese off and on for a few years now. I’m studying because I love Japanese culture, games, books, and food. I someday want to live in Japan, preferably in a rural setting. Right now I’m playing Stardew Valley in Japanese, and it’s very slow going. My kanji reading is very weak, which is why I’m so happy I found WaniKani. I’m excited to see my reading speed go up.

It’s nice to meet you all, and I can’t wait to get to know you.

どうぞよろしく!

6 Likes

If you’ve been learning Japanese for several years, this is the perfect time to start WK because you’ll be familiar with hiragana already. Welcome!

3 Likes

Thank you for not making this a thread about how slow WK starts off :pray::laughing:

You’re already in in my book :sunglasses: :open_book:

よろしくね!(^^)

3 Likes

@plantron , Yes! I also can read about 100-200 kanji now, but I’m very interested in the meaning behind them. And I want to know 2000! How long have you been studying on WK?

@MissMisc , Nice to meet you. I’ve done similar things before with Anki, so I understand the method a bit. No reason to complain, I just am excited to learn. :slight_smile: How goes your studying?

1 Like

It’s going well! I hit a plateau at some point several months ago and was away from WK for a bit, but now that I’m back in the groove of things I found that I can read/understand significantly better, so I’m finally over that stubborn plateau!