結婚しても恋してる: Week 7 Discussion

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

結婚しても恋してる home thread

Week 7

Start date: September 28th
Previous Thread: Week 6
Next Thread: Week 8

Reading:

Week Pages Chapters
Week 7 10 新ネタ [1], 凍てつく波動 [1], 正月ポケ [1], 君のぬくもり [2] (End of Ch 5), 本命はずっと [5] (End of Ch 6)

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :two_hearts:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

7 Likes

Did… did he legitimately forget it was Valentines’ Day?

Also, it took me an embarassingly long time to work out what ちあきと was supposed to mean…

5 Likes

Seems like it… Probably not as big a deal for a guy to forget Valentine’s in Japan, though.

I haven’t yet figured out what it’s supposed to mean…

1 Like

ちあき is the daughter’s name.

5 Likes

This phrase which was a story title on page 77, came up again on page 79:

有無を言わさないスマイル

有無 is a strange word with several meanings including “existence or non existence” and “consent or refusal”

言わす is also a trickier word meaning “to make someone say” or “to let someone say”

So the phrase means something like “a smile that won’t let you say yes or no” - which I’m guessing means “a smile you have to say yes to”

I love the way she mimics her mum from the previous page!

Also how would you translate 出たっ in the same panel on page 79? Thanks!

3 Likes

It has appeared!

It’s just 出る in past tense with a glottal stop to make it more punchy.

4 Likes