結婚しても恋してる: Week 4 Discussion

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

結婚しても恋してる home thread

Week 4

Start date: September 7th
Previous Thread: Week 3
Next Thread: Week 5

Reading:

Week Pages Chapters
Week 4 10 かぜの日曜日 [5] (End of Ch 2), 会談#とは [1+2], 大人の対応 [2]

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :two_hearts:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

7 Likes

Welcome back :yellow_heart:

2 Likes

Thank you:3 :yellow_heart: I was really tired last week and busy, and I have 600+ reviews to kill only on WK help me, but now I’m almost back \o/

6 Likes

Ah, Shingo. The reason you’re in a meeting is because it’s a meeting. This is Japan. :stuck_out_tongue:

6 Likes

Finally caught up with the past two weeks and finished the reading for this one as well now. :muscle:t2:

Shingo is so wholesome though, him dashing out of the office to check on his sick family. :sob::two_hearts:

5 Likes

He certainly is! So if I got this right on page 41, shin5 changed his name when he got married to his wife’s surname? I presume that’s quite unusual in Japan like it would be in the UK?

結婚する際に苗字を妻の姓の佐々木に。

結婚する際に - at the time of marrying
苗字 - surname
を - object marker
妻の姓の - wife’s surname + possessive particle
佐々木 - Sasaki
に - to
…and the verb “changed” is implied

“When he got married he changed his surname to his wife’s surname Sasaki.”