しろくまカフェ: Week 7 Discussion (Chapter 14)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

しろくまカフェ home thread

Chapter 14

Start date: April 24th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 11-13
Next chapter: Chapters 15 and 16

Page numbers

d341e81048b3e028df1874578c88cace5aa3ee86

Vocabulary list

You can also check the page numbers for new and old versions here. If you have an old version, chapters 24-28 are in the second volume!

Translations/Grammar Breakdown

Expand for a nested list of links covering each panel

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :panda_face:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

6 Likes

This universe is weird. “No polar bears allowed to enter the polar bear exhibit”…

3 Likes

Fun with numbers:

If you’ve reached WaniKani level 2, you will know 12% of the unique kanji in chapter 14.

By level 3, you can read 21% of the chapter’s unique kanji.

At level 8, you’ll recognize nearly half of the unique kanji in the chapter.

At level 18, it’s nearly 75%.

Level 30 gets you up to 92%.

At level 44, you should know all the kanji in chapter 14.

The chapter has 75 unique kanji, and 136 kanji total (if I didn’t miss any).

4 Likes

I’m curious about this. I’m only level 42 right now, but I didn’t notice any kanji I didn’t know in the chapter. I’m assuming I missed some. Which kanji require 44 (and/or 43)?