ロジカとラッカセイ ・ Rojica and Rakkasei 🥜 (Beginner Book Club)

Welcome to the ロジカとラッカセイ ・ Rojica and Rakkasei book club!

This is the main thread for reading the manga ロジカとラッカセイ ・ Rojica and Rakkasei together with the Beginner Book Club. It’s suggested that you have a solid understanding of N5 grammar and at least some of N4. If you have finished Genki 2, or have finished an Absolute Beginner Book Club and thought it went rather well, this might be at a good next step for you!

We’ll be reading together according to a weekly schedule, ask and answer questions in weekly threads, and we’ll have vocabulary and grammar sheets we’re building together to make this easier for everyone.

The vocab sheet will be especially useful since this manga doesn’t have furigana! (Although you can always use KanjiTomo on Windows 10, or other kanji recognition software - we might talk a bit more about that in this thread.)

ロジカとラッカセイ ・ Rojica and Rakkasei

6eea3ec6-75cc-410a-bce2-75c143d0124d

Description

Rojica and Rakkasei lead a cozy countryside life, exploring their world’s whimsical, fascinating creatures. Through their scholarly friend Isaac, they learn about many bizarre artifacts and the ancient civilization that once inhabited their planet. A vinyl record and a twister mat are just some of the items with mysterious purposes!

When there is nothing else to do, Rojica and Rakkasei investigate their strange neighbors, like the secretive Shi-san, the off-putting and incoherent Mrs. Grace (who terrifies Rakkasei) and Mrs. Massu, the kind old lady from next door.

Adventures are had, new friends are made, and every day they discover something new. There are a lot of things that the two still don’t know about the place that they live in…

Trigger Warnings

• death (major spoiler)