Cells at Work! 🦠 Book Club ・ Past the finish line!

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club Here!
View this book on Natively!

Welcome to the Cells at Work!! :microbe: Book Club!

Strep throat! Hay fever! Influenza! The world is a dangerous place for a red blood cell just trying to get her deliveries finished. Fortunately, she’s not alone… she’s got a whole human body’s worth of cells ready to help out! The mysterious white blood cell, the buff and brash killer T cell, the nerdy neuron, even the cute little platelets – everyone’s got to come together if they want to keep you healthy!

View the nomination post here!

Where to purchase

Digital: BookWalker, Amazon
Physical: Amazon, CD Japan (only in bundle)

Schedule

Week Start Date Chapter Page Numbers Page Count
Week 1 26 Nov Ch 1 part 1 0 - 12 13
Week 2 3 Dec Ch 1 part 2 13 - 27 15
Week 3 10 Dec Ch 1 part 3 28 - 42 14
Week 4 17 Dec Ch 1 part 4 43 - 59 17
Week 5 24 Dec Ch 2 part 1 60 - 73 14
Week 6 31 Dec Ch 2 part 2 74 - 87 14
Week 7 7 Jan Ch 2 part 3 88 - 101 14
Week 8 14 Jan Ch 3 part 1 102 - 118 17
Week 9 21 Jan Ch 3 part 2 119 - 135 17
Week 10 28 Jan Ch 4 part 1 136 - 154 19
Week 11 4 Feb Ch 4 part 2 155 - 173 19

Vocabulary and Grammar

Please read the guidelines on the first page before adding any words.

Trigger Warnings

Details
  • ““Blood”” (more like bacteria goo)

Live Readings

If someone wants to organize live reading sessions, tell me about it

Discussion Guidelines

Spoiler Courtesy

Please follow these rules to avoid inadvertent ネタバレ. If you’re unsure whether something should have a spoiler tag, err on the side of using one.

1. Any potential spoiler for the current week’s reading need only be covered by a spoiler tag. Predictions and conjecture made by somebody who has not read ahead still falls into this category.