ハピネス・Happiness - (Absolute Beginner Book Club Offshoot)

Welcome to the ハピネス reading club!

This club is to continue ハピネス (Happiness), reading the rest of this 10-volume series. This is an offshoot of the Absolute Beginner Book Club, which read volume 1.

Schedule

Volume Start Date Chapters Vocab
Volume 1 March 5 1-5 Vocab
Volume 2 May 14 6-10 Vocab
Volume 3 July 2 11-15 Vocab
Volume 4 August 6 16-20 Vocab
Volume 5 September 10 21-25 Vocab
Volume 6 October 15 26-30 Vocab
Volume 7 November 19 31-35 Vocab
Volume 8 December 24 36-40 Vocab
Volume 9 January 28 41-45 Vocab
Volume 10 March 4 46-50 Vocab ← Currently reading

More Information

About the book

Summary: Makoto Okazaki is your run of the mill high-schooler, a perfect bullying target. One night, on his way to return a DVD to a friend, he notices a person on a nearby rooftop. The person lunges at him and bites his neck, drinking his blood. The attacker, a beautiful girl, then asks him: “Do you want to die or become like me?” He decides to live…

Digital sites with previews: BOOK☆WALKER | BookLive! | ebookjapan | Kindle

You can read the @eieio’s original nomination post here, which includes some sample pages.

It’s quite a visually driven story so there are sections where there is no dialog for several pages. Most of the dialog is casual Japanese spoken between friends. If it’s your first manga this will introduce you to a lot of common casual contractions of speech. These may be tricky at first but you’ll soon get used to these with the help of the group.

Virtually all the kanji have furigana, so you don’t need to be at a specific Wanikani level to enjoy reading. You’re going to get some practice in reading katakana words, in fact you’re going to be hit by loads of them in the first couple of pages!