10 Minute Biographies Chapter 7 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Seven: Christopher Columbus

Start Date: 4th February (JST)

Previous Chapter: Chapter 6
Next Chapter: Chapter 8
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule

Page turns at midnight JST.

Date Page Last Line of Page
Feb 4 99 Chapter title page
Feb 5 100 ヨーロッパからは とても 遠い 国でした。
Feb 6 101 でも、コロンブスは ちがいました。
Feb 7 103 ほかの 二そうの 船と ともに、海に 出ました。
Feb 8 104 そんな ある日の こと、船が うごきを 止めました。
Feb 9 105 「航海を やめて、船を 引きかえしてくれ!」
Feb 10 106 「おねがいだ、船を 引きかえしてくれ!」
Feb 11 107 大ほうの 音を とどろかせました。
Feb 12 108 (私の 考えに、おやまりは なかった……。)
Feb 13 109 知らなかった 新しい 大陸に、たどりついたのです。
Feb 14 110 End of chapter

Resources

These spreadsheets are put together by the bookclub to help other readers. Feel free to contribute but do read the vocab sheet guidance on the first page before adding any words.

Discussion Guidelines

Summary
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

2 Likes

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

1 Like
title p. 99

コロンブス
Columbus
自分を信じて新しい大陸にたどり着いた
He believed in himself and found his way to a new continent

6 Likes
p. 100

今から五百年以上も前にことです。