10 Minute Biographies Book Club Chapter 4 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Four: Röntgen

Start Date: 27th December

Previous Chapter: Chapter 3
Next Chapter: Chapter 5
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule
Date Page Last Line of Page
Dec 27 59 Chapter title page
Dec 28 60 ほねや、内ぞうの ようすが わかる、ふしぎな
Dec 29 61 ところが、先生は 絵を 見て おこりました。
Dec 30 62 大学に 入学しました。 大学では、科学に きょうみを
Dec 31 63 物理学の けんきゅうを つづけて、大学の 先生に なったのです。
Jan 1 64 けい光ばんが、光っている ことに 気が つきました。
Jan 2 65 いろいろな ものを おいてみる ことに しました。
Jan 3 66 けい光ばんがに 光が うつるので、『何か』が
Jan 4 67 おどろきました。「ほ、ほねが うつっている。」
Jan 5 68 目には 見えない とくべつな 光だったのです。
Jan 6 69 X線で お金もうけを しようとは、思いませんでした。
Jan 7 70 End of chapter

Vocabulary List

Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

Grammar Sheet

Discussion Guidelines

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

3 Likes

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

1 Like
title

レントゲン
Röntgen
病気や怪我を調べるX線を発見した。
He discovered the X-rays to examine diseases and injuries.

5 Likes
p. 60

あなたは、自分の骨を、見たことがありますか。
Have you ever seen your own bones?
そんなことを聞かれたら、びっくりしますよね。