レンタルおにいちゃん Reading Club

Welcome to the レンタルおにいちゃん reading club!

The Absolute Beginner Book Club read through volume one of レンタルおにいちゃん.

This offshoot reading club is to continue the following three volumes, through scheduled reading.

Completed reading all four volumes

What is this series?

Summary

両親の他界…優しかった兄の豹変…独りぼっちで傷ついた少女は昔の兄の優しさを求め、“おにいちゃん”をレンタルする―――お金で。「レンタルでも、私は“家族(ぬくもり)”がほしい。」

Her parents have passed away… Her kind big brother has changed completely… A girl, alone and hurt, in search of the kindness of who her brother used to be, she rents a “big brother”…for money. “Even if it’s a rental, I want family (warmth).”

Little Kanami has lost the warmth of family at home, following first the death of her parents, and second her once-kind big brother becoming distant and abusive. She lacks the warmth of friendship at school, where classmates either bully or ignore her. When things seem to be at their worst, Kanami meets Makoto, a young man whose kindness is exactly what’s missing from her life. Makoto, seeing a reflection of his own childhood in Kanami, offers a proposition: any time she’s feeling down, she can rent time with him as a big brother.

Where can I buy it?

Online shopping options
Store Format Volumes
Amazon Paperback 1, 2, 3, 4
CDJapan Paperback 1, 2, 3, 4
Pixiv Digital Series
BookLive! Digital 1, 2, 3, 4
BOOK☆WALKER Digital 1, 2, 3, 4
ebookjapan Digital 1, 2, 3, 4
Kobo Digital 1, 2, 3, 4

Where can I read online?

レンタルおにいちゃん was originally released as a free comic on Pixiv. Later, it was redrawn and released commercially. The commercial release includes furigana (missing from the original release) and new chapters. Chapters from the original release and select chapters from the commercial are available through Pixiv.

Links for reading online.

Note that some of the commercial links may become unavailable at a later date. They are available at the discretion of the author and Pixiv.