10 Minute Biographies - Chapter 1 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies - Chapter One: Edison

Start Date: 7th November

Next Chapter: Chapter 2
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule
Date Page Last Line of Page
Nov 7 11 たまごの 上に すわりました。
Nov 8 12 しつもんばかりの エジソンを、先生は
Nov 9 13 本を 読みましょう。
Nov 10 14 できごとに 出会うのです。
Nov 11 15 線路に とびこみました。
Nov 12 16 電信の 通信手と して
Nov 13 17 発明できるんじゃ ないか…。」
Nov 14 18 株の ねだんを、同時に
Nov 15 19 エジソンは ちがいました。
Nov 16 20 エジソンは、電話を 発明しようと、
Nov 17 21 おもしろい ものを 作ってみせるぞ。」
Nov 18 22 ことが できる 「ちく音き」です。
Nov 19 23 「電球」の 発明の はじまりでした。
Nov 20 24 一八七九年十月に十一日の ことです。
Nov 21 25 「やった! 新しい 明かりの たん生だ。」
Nov 22 26 End of chapter.

Vocabulary List

Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

Grammar Sheet

Discussion Guidelines

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally use blur / hide, to avoid spoilers for those who haven’t translated the sentence themselves yet. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m planning to catch up later

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

16 Likes

Welcome to Chapter One of 10 Minute Biographies!

A few quick points to get us started…

1. Ask Questions!!