レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 9 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Nine: Pages 103-116

Start Date: 3rd October

Last Week: Week 8
Next Week: Week 10
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

6 Likes

This chapter has something extra added above the chapter number:

0821_rental_1280_01_105x

If you look up 書き下ろし 描き下ろし in a Japanese-to-English dictionary, you’ll find it means “writing something on commission; newly written text” “drawing something on commission; newly drawn pictures (or paintings, manga, etc.)”. Indeed, this chapter was written specifically for the commercial release. It is all new material that had not been part of the free releases on Pixiv. (Thanks for the typo correction, @2000kanji!)

7 Likes

Page 108

Can anybody make out the chicken scratches in Kanami’s drawing? I think the bottom one starts with おそうじやさん ??? but I really can’t make out the rest.

1 Like

「おそうじやさんのおさかな」

But that’s all I can figure out, and even that much is thanks to you filling out the first half.

2 Likes

Not quite. It is not 書き下ろし but 描き下ろし (same pronunciation) which means ‘newly drawn pictures’.

4 Likes