結婚しても恋してる: Week 9 Discussion [END of Vol 1]

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

結婚しても恋してる home thread

Week 9

Start date: October 12th
Previous Thread: Week 8
Next Thread: Volume 2

Reading:

Week Pages Chapters
Week 9 11 双子育児あるある [2+9] (End of Ch 8)

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :two_hearts:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

6 Likes

All done :slight_smile: This last chapter made me tear up, even though obviously I knew everything turned out fine in the end.

Thanks for hosting this club once again, @FlamySerpent!

7 Likes

Hey we’re on the last section! Although it’s going to take me more than one sitting to get through it all!

Some sentences I worked on this evening:

Page 108

なんでいつもこのドラマみるとないちゃうの?
Why do you always cry when you watch this drama?
ないちゃう = 泣いてちゃう = to cry (ちゃう implies element of regret)

これ見るとねぇ 思い出しちゃうからだよ
Because when I watch this, it brings back memories - literally “I remember (with an element of regret)”

Page 110

新し命の報せ
new life’s news

それはふたつあるということもわかり

それは - speaking of that
ふたつある - two things are existing
という - so called
こと - thing
も - also/even
わかり - understanding, being realised (stem of 分かる)

Life-changing news, and even more finding out that that there are two of them!

Page 112

彼女の容態があまりよくなく
面会に行っても会うことができない日もあった。

彼女の容態が - her condition
あまりよくなく - not so good (adverb form - “not so well”)