結婚しても恋してる: Week 5 Discussion

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

結婚しても恋してる home thread

Week 5

Start date: September 14th
Previous Thread: Week 4
Next Thread: Week 6

Reading:

Week Pages Chapters
Week 5 12 ルンバ先輩爆弾 [1], いつもそばに [1], ギリギリアウト [1], 君に会いたい [1], 後輩指導 [1], この夏一番のホラー [2], 特別な日 [5] (End of Ch 3)

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :two_hearts:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

9 Likes

Hi guys!:3 The new thread is here, I can’t edit the main post, so sorry about that, I think it’s a bug that’s going to be fixed :eyes: And I’m gonna catch up soon too :heart_eyes:

4 Likes

Should work again as of today

4 Likes

Oh, it’s fixed now! /o/ runs to edit the home thread

4 Likes

Checking in to say, done with this week’s reading :slight_smile: I’m really loving this manga.

6 Likes

Page 49

Phew, caught up! Right, time to get started on this week’s reading!

First panel …

彼女と別れ 傷心していた 先輩が…

彼女 - 1) she 2) girlfriend
と - if/and/with etc
別れ - parting, separation
傷心 - heartbreak
していた - was doing
先輩 - senior employee
が… - identifier particle

“So, my senior at work has been going through a tough time after splitting up with his girlfriend…”

The meaning is clear enough, but I have a few questions about the grammar!

1. what is that と doing? It obviously links 彼女 and 別れ, but how?
  2. why is there no particle after 別れ, or between 別れ and 傷心?