チーズスイートホーム: Week 6 Discussion (Chapters 16-18)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

チーズスイートホーム home thread

Chapters 16-18

Start date: July 27th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 13-15
Next Chapter: Chapters 19-20

Vocabulary list

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :cat:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

8 Likes

That plush cat is downright creepy…

4 Likes

It really is. But even more so is that I’m not sure if that other one is meant to be Blossom or not.

The one in between them made me think “charmander”. :slightly_smiling_face:

Omg I think you’re right?

This is so cursed though :joy:

4 Likes

Well bookwalker had an updated file for me to download today and it seems to be a higher quality. The smaller characters are much easier to read now!

Just read chapter 16 and filled in the vocab sheet as I was going along. Couple of quick questions please:

Page 124
オトーサンまたチーをやなところへつれてきれしょ

I get the meaning of the sentence (Dad’s looking to take Chi back to that place again)
Does anyone understand the やな part please?

Page 127
何がいいのか悩んじゃってさー

何がいい - what is good

のか - seems to be a particle that indicates the speaker is questioning his previous statement

悩んじゃって

• compound of 悩んで (te form of the verb 悩む “to worry”)
  • then I think the second part is like ちゃう (to do completely, to do accidentally) but changed to じゃう because the preceding て-form ended in で not て