チーズスイートホーム: Week 2 Discussion (Chapters 4-6)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

チーズスイートホーム home thread

Chapters 4-6

Start date: June 29th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 1-3
Next Chapter: Chapters 7-9

Vocabulary list

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :cat:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

11 Likes

I‘m not completly done with the first week chapters, but I will be soon. :man_shrugging:

1 Like

Chapter 4 Page 28 dialogue (on the phone)

子猫 拾ったんだけどね。
そうなの、猫飼わない。
そうか、じゃあ他を当たってみるわ。

I don’t find these short sentence fragments easy in casual Japanese. Here’s my attempts:

子猫 拾ったんだけどね

• 子猫 - kitten
  • 拾った - to pick up in plain past form
  • ん - explanatory particle
  • だけど - however
  • ね - right?, don’t you think

----> So I picked up the kitten, you see

そうなの、猫飼わない?

• そう - so
  • なの - that’s the way it is
  • 猫 - cat
  • 飼わない - not keeping

----> That’s right, we won’t keep the cat. That’s right, would you take the cat? (Thanks @Kyasurin)

そうか、じゃあ他を当たってみるわ

• そうか - is that so?
  • じゃあ - well
  • 他 - other (thing)
  • を - object marking particle (implying the next verb must be one of it’s transitive forms)
  • 当たって - Jisho definition 17 (!!) to feel something out, to probe into, to check
  • みる - following a verb in te-form means “try to”
  • わ - indicates emotion/emphasis

----> Is that so? Well I’ll try to look at other options.

5 Likes