Wrong radicals in Kanji in WK

Hi there, I started learning with WK… Subscribed for lifetime… And really liked it so far.

There are though some kanjis and their radicals that I question.

I will therefore start a list here that may help everyone with learning and remembering.
I also know that WK makes up some radicals for easy learning… I’m not talkin about these kinds of “wrong radicals”… But obvious mistakes.

So one I found and double checked with different websites:

Level 9 kanji “determine” 定:
WK says: radicals used are roof and correct, but instead of “correct” 正 it should be coat rack 疋.

4 Likes

WaniKani is making mnemonics. Sometimes they bend things to make the mnemonics work, or because a given shape hasn’t been included as a radical yet.

Sometimes they do change things from feedback, but the goal of the site is not to give historically accurate representations of the kanji construction (which, most sites don’t actually do even if they use more “traditional” radicals, to be honest).

EDIT: Though looking at this I’m not sure I’d even consider this a “mistake.” Coat rack has the little hook on the upper stroke. From that perspective, I don’t really see an issue with using either one, if we’re talking about how WaniKani handles things (that is: whatever they think makes the best mnemonic).

It looks like the original shape was 足 and it got simplified over time, anyway. So it wasn’t 正 or 疋.

12 Likes

You’ll see determine enough times that it won’t be an issue.

1 Like

I totally get that wk is not trying to provide an etymological correct explanation for kanji… And provides easy ways and mnemonics for the kanji… Hence there are radicals at WK that aren’t considered radicals somewhere else.