WK level, JLPT level and book club level

I know that this will be individual and that there are no hard and fast rules. A dedicated beginner armed with a dictionary can read anything.

But as a rule of thumb, what JLPT level do the different book clubs correspond to? And what WK level should you aim for before expecting to be able to comfortably read the books in the different book clubs? Something like this?

Book club WK level JLPT level
Absolute beginner 10 4-5
Beginner 20 3-4
Intermediate 40 2-3
Advanced 60+ 1-2
3 Likes

Your estimates are reasonable, except Advanced is really just Intermediate at a much higher pace. So I imagine (havenā€™t done one yet) that it would have the same level recommendations as Intermediate, just with more actual reading practice/experience being necessary. Though of course, knowing more grammar/kanji should speed up your reading pace too, so maybe the higher levels would matter. (In theory the Advanced group may also read older classics at a slower pace, so maybe N1 grammar would be more relevant there, not sure.)

I would just add that even at the levels specified, you shouldnā€™t expect to read these books comfortably. I would say itā€™s that you could potentially read these books without suffering. Iā€™m level 60 (and have been for over a year), formally studied grammar to N3-ish (and picked up a bunch more from reading), and have read a handful of books, but given how many words I still have to look up I wouldnā€™t describe my experience as ā€œreading comfortablyā€.

18 Likes

Adding to @seanblueā€™s good comment about ā€œreading comfortablyā€: