Where to go from here

Hello! I’ve been doing WaniKani for about 6 months now (slow learner so I’m almost level 7) but my ultimate goal is to read & speak Japanese. I’ve tried a bit of tae Kim’s guide, but besides that I’ve done only WaniKani. What I would like to know, is what is a great place to learn how to identify sentences (I don’t understand where one word starts and one stops without “,”) and where to build up learning sentences so I can start speaking Japanese. I’ve read the resources page, but I guess I’m not sure where I’m actually supposed to go from here so I don’t understand which resource I need next.

TL:DR - basically only using WaniKani, I would like to read & speak Japanese, need specifics on which direction // learning site I need next.

Side note, I love WaniKani, and I know that you’re supposed to do other Japanese studies on top of it, but I keep getting told “you’ve been studying for a long time and can’t speak anything” which I get is my fault but I’m conflicted and don’t know where to learn sentences (proper so I don’t sound like a fool) :confused:

2 Likes

I’d advice getting a textbook

6 Likes

I’ve been using a combination of Japanese Level Up and Bunpro for grammar. Then just immersing myself in native materials.

2 Likes

Any text books in mind? I assume this is for identifying how to understand a sentence

What exactly do you get out of both of those? Is grammar the way to go when it comes to speaking Japanese? :o

Speaking, reading, listening, etc. You’re never going to understand very much if you don’t know any grammar. It would be like expecting to know English but all you ever did is learn isolated words.

3 Likes

Bunpro focuses on grammar and some example sentences.

Japanese Level Up based on the SRS-immersion idea (AJATT / Mass Immersion Approach) where you gain experience with Japanese by using a LOT of flashcards combined with immersion.

You can Google them to get a better idea of it than I can explain here.

2 Likes