When will reading feel normal?

I have a question for my lvl 25+ friends that used wanikani as their primary learning tool:

At what level did the structure of Japanese sentences start to flow and make sense on a subconscious level. I’m level 7 and when I try to read sentences that contain known Kanji they feel really weird. a few examples are; sentences leaving out the “I”, and finding the “is” and “are” at the end of the sentence, and what seems like a lack of tense. Don’t get me wrong I eventually figure it out but the end result seems weird and foreign. Basically I’m asking when it will start to feel normal to have the end result (personal translation) of a sentence be “book of sister of friend, read, go lets, question”. (shall we go and read a book belonging to my sisters friend?)

I’m sure everyone will be slightly different so in order to limit the responses I’d like to hear from people that mainly used Wanikani and self taught themselves the grammar from reading manga and google.

1 Like

WK teaches no grammar, well, not directly anyway, so the issues you’re referring to, where sentences are difficult to parse, will remain even if you get to level 60.

WK will just allow you to, more often than not, be able to say aloud the sentences you weren’t able to parse as you read them.

15 Likes

In addition to what Leebo said, the answer is going to be highly influenced by what you are reading. Graded readers started to feel natural to me even around the 10ish level even when they had words I had never encountered before because I knew most of the grammar and due to context clues I could usually guess unknown words.

12 Likes

Leebo, what was your favorite grammar learning method or site when you were just starting out?

1 Like

Thanks, i’ll look into “graded readers” perhaps i’ll pick some up on Amazon.

I took classes at a physical language school, once or twice a week for about 18 months at the start of my Japanese learning.