What to do when you want to add some inconsistent studying to your routine?

Hey everybody, been here for awhile but I believe this is my first time making a thread.

This may be a bit of a strange question, but I’ll give a bit of context. I’m currently a grad student who is also working. I have been studying Japanese on and off for a while and I’d say I’m squarely in the amorphous gulf between beginner and intermediate. I have plans to move to Japan to do full-time language study for 6-12 months after I graduate because I am determined to become fully fluent.

That said, currently I only really have time to fully include WaniKani as a consistent study tool at this stage in my life. I flirted with BunPro and KameSame as well, but couldn’t keep up with multiple SRSs.

This leads to the focus of this topic. Being grad school and all, my free time fluctuates pretty heavily such that there are periods where I find myself with more free time than usual, but it’s inconsistent. I’m wondering what people would recommend to do if I feel like upping my Japanese study for these periods, when it may only be a single day or couple of days that I can add extra material. I’m always hesitant about opening up a textbook or something like BunPro if I know I’m not going to be able to keep up with it in the long run. I do know that grammar is one of my weak points right now.

Currently what I do sometimes is try to make it through a Level 1 Graded Reader or go through a couple phrases in ‘Japanese Sentence Patterns For Effective Communication’. This works well enough, but I’m wondering if people have any better recommendations, or perhaps tips for what you do yourself in this kind of situation? Would people recommend any other kinds of resources in this situation, such as Duolingo or some kind of listening material?

Thanks for the help!

6 Likes
I put this in details because long