What puts me off learning languages

Around almost four years ago I started learning Japanese but stopped short because I became disillusioned with learning by myself. Looking at the language as a whole started overwhelming me and I couldn’t figure out how I’d do all this alone. I’d go on forums where people were highly dedicated to it which overwhelmed me even more.

I’ve since tried on and off to learn again and I’ve now joined in a weekly online 2-hr group lesson, but I still fall short and feel disillusioned. Additionally I feel deflated because (yet again) I’m starting from basics and never getting to the intermediate stuff. I’m tired of simple sentences now. I can grasp them well. When I go on this forum I sometimes shrink back because I look at people’s dedication and I feel lazy with it.

I think the reason is because there is just not enough contact time with other people in general. 2 hours a week is not enough contact time and whilst listening and comprehension might help, I don’t feel enthused for the language because I need to practise to etch it in. What I’m most interested in is spending time with people at the same level where we are spending at least a few hours a week practising together. Even if I were in Japan, I’d need to find such a community.

I feel it is fruitless to sit and memorise things and only part useful to listen and read (for myself). When I did this before I’d end up with a build up of knowledge but I just couldn’t contain it because I wasn’t speaking it. I went from one topic to the next and then forgot the last topic. When sentences and grammar got more complicated I threw the towel in. I just couldn’t retain it without practising. My muscle memory needs to work practically and think actively.

I know we all need this but how do you guys do this alone? I see you reading, writing etc but how do you practise your speaking comprehension? Are there any groups that I can join?

Thanks.

9 Likes