What made you start Japanese?

I started learning Japanese after years of loving anime. It’s always interested me, but since I’m also learning Korean, I never tried both at once. Wish me luck!

12 Likes

I started watching anime last year (never really watched any before that) and by June I was already completely into it. That’s when I also started getting into visual novels. At that point, I learned hiragana and katakana just because and figured I would study the language to consume native material. I really don’t like to use translations if I can help it.

That’s pretty much it. Now I also read light novels, though, it’s great reading practice.

5 Likes

I always loved Japan, but I never really got too much into Japanese culture and the language aside from occasionally watching anime. I saw that there were language classes at my university and I wanted to try learning a language again, so I just decided to go with Japanese since it seemed the most interesting and difficult. I quit those classes after a semester since the teaching pace wasn’t right for me, but I fell in love with the language and I’ve been self-studying since.

For someone learning Korean as well, I’m sure one will make the other easier. I’ve done a bit of Korean while having a lot of Japanese knowledge, and my knowledge of Japanese grammar really helped. Generally, a lot of grammar is similar between the two languages, and you get the occasional word that is quite similar as well, but I don’t know how you’ll find it if you’re at the same level in both. Best of luck to you!

頑張って!

5 Likes

A love of anime and japan.

Also got tinnitus and which got me motivate to learn something. Made a bad thing into a good thing for me.

1 Like

manga and anime, but I think there is more! And good luck :sunny: