What do your study notes look like?

I was just wondering how everyone takes notes when they’re studying.
I use Tae Kim’s website for grammar and try to condense that down into notes.
As for kanji and vocab, I like to write them down on paper as I learn them so I’ve ended up with lots and lots of pages of nonsense Japanese like you can see on the right lol. It really helps with memorizing though.

Anybody else want to share?

8 Likes

Ah thanks, I must have missed that one.

I’m a Japanese grammar beginner, but I made pages on Evernote for particle usage. I also keep handwritten notes too.

I put my image here because the OP wanted to see what our study notes “looked like”, not just a general “what we use to take grammar notes” type question.

11 Likes

Thanks for sharing :smile_cat:
That’s a good way of doing notes, it’s so organised!

I love to database things and in OneNote I can add tables which I can sort my info, which is pretty handy. I can also search for anything.

I did a blog post on taking notes a month ago, and while I still love handwritten notes, it can be convenient to keep them in something like Evernote or Onenote.

Thanks for sharing your image too! I can see you are much further along in studying grammar than I am! And it’s always fun to see other people’s actual notes. :grinning: Your kanji and notes are very legible!

3 Likes

Your blog post was really interesting! I could relate to all the benefits of pen and paper you listed (especially the one about filling up a notebook - it’s so satisfying!)
I like seeing other people’s notes as well! After seeing yours I might have a go at putting some digital notes together too :smile_cat:

@tiamo, your notes are beautiful. At that stage of study, the handwritten notes are just fine. It’s so much easier to switch pen colours or draw a diagram on a piece of paper.