What do you wish you'd been taught at the beginning?

When I first started learning Japanese, I was a confused mess, but eventually I figured some stuff out. I try hard to find patterns in things, and I found that there are some patterns - but they are not obvious and not taught to beginners. Things such as rendaku, the importance of onyomi (though I think WK is a really good resource for this), voiced and unvoiced consonants and when they’re used… what is something that you wish you’d learned at the beginning, or conversely, think that it would be good for a beginner to know that isn’t often taught to beginners?

I know I felt really cheated when I discovered the word “大丈夫” - it seems like one of the very first words one should learn, but alas, it’s not.

8 Likes

I was not told that kanji actually makes reading easier. I studied Japanese over a year before I started WaniKani, and I have become so much more fluent in reading since then. I try to watch anime with Japanese subtitles, and I can now understand many words that I have not learned yet because I can read part of the word while the pictures and tonality hints at the meaning. Before this I knew about 2000 words, but I had a hard time to keep them apart, especially of they were conjugated. I know anime and manga is not the best learning tools, but the fact that I understand more every day makes me so mutch more motivated to study hard.

13 Likes

Japanese

19 Likes

I’m not sure if that’s a genius or sad answer. How did you intend it?

i’d teach a beginner to not be scared of the dictionary form.
many books start teaching the masu-form, and that’s fine (a newbie can’t speak anyway, and someone who can barely string 3 words together would have to actively try to be rude), but the dictionary form makes conjugations easier to learn, which then speeds up the whole process.

24 Likes