What are some things you do to stay focused while studying?

I always tend to drift off while I’m studying. I’ll be in the middle of the session and think, “I want to cook some spaghetti,” and then forget that I am studying and cook spaghetti xD. I have ADHD so that doesn’t help too much. What are some things that you guys do to stay focused?

4 Likes

I keep paper and pen next to me and whenever I think “I want to do [thing]” or “I need to do [chore]” I write it down and tell myself I’ll do it on my break. Somehow it’s less distracting once it’s written down.

Gotta be paper, though, writing on the computer doesn’t work because I get even more distracted switching between windows.

5 Likes

I put on “trance, female vocals” in Youtube, pick one at random and force myself to finish the night review session before the 1 hour long compilation finishes.

5 Likes

i just opened the forums mid study session and this thread was on top…uh…looks like i’m not the right person to answer it

that being said i usually try to set a clear and achievable intention (finish wk reviews for example…if there’s only 100 or so to do), then reward myself with a break, then start the next concrete unit of work (let’s say 3 pages in my grammar textbook), etc.

5 Likes

I tend to put on some kind of ASMR music, something calm without vocals to distract me, and it really helps if I turn off my other monitors while reviewing, I tend to go and do something else in the middle of reviewing.

That’s about it really.

1 Like

Just do it in chunks. When you start to space out you can hit the wrap up button and it will give you the pairs for the items you’ve already done and then end the review.

I do this when something comes up while in the middle of a review. Life happens.

5 Likes

I take tiny breaks.

If I try to sit through 200 reviews in one sitting… sometimes doable, but often it starts to feel like a real grind 1/3 or 1/2 of the way through and I lose concentration a bit.