What am I doing wrong? During my learning journey

Hello!

I am relatively new/old to Wani Kani as the wkstats screenshot suggests! The reason I decided to write this post actually this morning I received an email from Wani Kani community and someone posted they reached level 60 within 368 days! And I can see I am going really slow according to many other people from my stats which I am ok with it but I was hoping I could at least be able to read absolute beginner books by now!

I started wani kani from scratch again around the new year before I barely passed the 1st level so I wouldn’t even count those as starting just registering to the website! Learning Japanese was one of my long goals but never give enough time and attention to it needed. Since the new year I have spent at least 1 hour every day in Wani Kani/Nativshark and Duolingo(accumulatively) and I was hoping I could at least able to read one of those Absolute beginner book suggestions or Borrow a book from a library for preschoolers and read it! But so far non of them I can even get close to understanding which is getting more frustrating I am sure everybody has these struggles while learning and I went through to read couple posts in here and did a quick google search as well!

For absolute beginner book/manga suggestions, I can read the hiragana but as far as I can see I do not know any of the vocabulary in the book this is the same for preschoolers’ books as well! which is more frustrating because apparently, i do not know 99% of animals or vegetables or any of the body organs(and I know all these sites follow most common vocabulary used in daily life most cases)