Well I made it to level 60

I started on July 2, 2021, and reached level 60 today, June 6th, 2024. Maybe it took me longer than usual because I’ve been a full-time student the whole time I’ve been doing this, but I still have to finish level 60 and burn some stuff, so I’m not done yet. I can’t believe it’s finally (almost) over. I don’t know where my Japanese would be without WaniKani. I first started WaniKani during the summer before my sophomore year of college, and I graduated last May with a BBA in Finance and a minor in Japanese. I was getting ready to start Genki II in class the following fall semester, and now I’ve made it all the way through Tobira. My parents bought me a plane ticket as a graduation gift, and I’m leaving next week to visit Japan for the first time.

Anyway, it seems crazy that I made it to the end. During the first 10 levels or so, I don’t think I ever really believed I would finish, but here I am. It’s been great.

57 Likes

The “usual” is people giving up long before level 60, I think getting there in 3 years while being a student is absolutely commendable!

26 Likes

Congratulations! Enjoy Japan!!! :jp: :crabigator:
Pack light and don’t underestimate the sun :smiley:

7 Likes

Congrats! That’s so exciting! I visited Japan for the first time as an adult last year and forced myself to learn hiragana/katakana while I was there. Even that tiny bit of kana greatly enhanced my trip.

So I can’t imagine how much more awesome it’s gonna be for you to visit with how far you’ve gotten with Japanese!

8 Likes

It doesn’t matter if it’s by an inch or a mile, winning is winning.

おめでとうございます。

6 Likes

Congratulations! :smiley:

100%! If you’re doing all of this on top of both a major and minor courseload (nevermind that part of it is Japanese: that doesn’t make WaniKani reviews disappear!) that is amazing.

The only way I could do something like that is by not having a job, giving up sleep, or (more likely) both. Respect! :laughing:

4 Likes