Using Wanikani with KKLC?

Hi Everyone,

I hope you are all well! I have been using Wanikani for a few months now, and have been thoroughly enjoying it. However, I realised that I have “The Kodansha Kanji Learner’s Course” text, and its graded readers just sitting on my shelf.

I was wondering if you can use KKLC in conjunction with Wanikani, or should I just stick with one?

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Use the graded readers, for sure.
You will be too busy here when things ramp up to be seriously using another system for learning kanji.
But maximum exposure is going to be the best way to cement things in your head, so have fun with other kanji resources when you have time. Other material won’t unlearn what you learn here. It is still the same language, with the same common uses of the same kanji.
Good Luck!

6 Likes

Hey Rose,

Thank you so much for the help! Just a quick side question, how should one practice physically writing kanji while working with Wanikani? I just started a Japanese major at university, and some of the future courses are going to be heavy on the physically writing part.

2 Likes

Lots of people practice right on their phone screen. I don’t recall the app.
I learned with a water brush (little brush from the craft store that you can fill with water colors.)
I have kanji-stroke-order font installed on my computer that I have used.

There is a whole giant opinionated debate here about learning to write at all. The group consensus is that there is no need to learn. But, being that you need to learn for school, your situation is different.

Really, once you learn to write like 100 easy characters, you will understand the rules of stroke order, and most of the rest will just become automatic.

Writing for me is a joy.

4 Likes

I have looked at KKLC before, thinking that it probably might not be needed; at least not for now. (So, I have another Kodansha Kanji book – the Synonyms Guide, but whether to recommend is equivocal.)