Use of どこか in lyrics

Hello!

I’m an absolute beginner and I started to delve into the Japanese language some time ago, so sentence structures and understanding why sentences were built in a specific way is tricky to me. I’d like to ask for help in the first line of Akira Kushida’s song 星空のメッセジョ。

The first line is 星空のどこかにふるさとがある。
As independent words and expressions, I know there’s “starry sky”, “home(town)”, “there is” . どこかhere means somewhere? Does it always have this meaning? Does の have a possessive function here?what would be an appropriate translation for this line? Thanks for your help in advance.

Yes どこか generally means somewhere. 星空のどこか is literally somewhere in the starry sky where the genitive particle indicates the somewhere being in the starry sky.

A complete translation depends on context, but my guess for a context friendly version would be

[my] home is out there somewhere

5 Likes

Gah, beat me to it :slight_smile:

Only thing to add is a literal translation as opposed to an artistically interpreted one (sounds sucky, maybe useful for learning):

星空のどこかにふるさとがある
Somewhere in the starry sky there is a hometown.

4 Likes

A little more generally to answer the rest of your question: Yes, Question word + か means some-

どこか - Somewhere

誰か - Someone

いつか - Sometime

Etc

2 Likes

どこか means “somewhere” and using (place)のどこかに is “Somewhere in (place).” This seems to be a set phrase.
You can think of the の as not possessive here, but position in this case.

Ex.
机の上 - on the table
私の後 - behind me
かごの鳥 -birds in a cage.

So I’d translate it as “Somewhere in the starry sky there is a hometown.” But this sounds stiff, so maybe, “There’s a home among the stars.” Or if you wanted to be poetic “(My) home(town) is somewhere in the starlit sky.”

Hope I helped :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Nice song choice :+1:

“My home[town] is somewhere in the starry sky” would work in context.

1 Like