Usage of は

Hello! I’m just starting to learn Japanese grammar and I have a basic question about は. Below are two phrases I found in Genki 1. The first one has は after 今日 and the second one doesn’t. Why is it appropriate to use は after 今日 in the first phrase and not the second?
今日は一時ごる昼ご飯を食べます。
私は今日学校に行きません。

Also, how would I say “Today I’m studying Japanese”?
今日は日本語を勉強します
今日日本語を勉強します

Thanks!

3 Likes

When you say 今日、you really don’t need to explicitly say the は.
But, in general, and in your sentence, where you use は changes the topic you’re focusing on.
So, today I will eat lunch around 1:00. Perhaps you eat lunch at a different time usually.
Or, today I won’t go to school. Perhaps you’re talking to other people who will.

Sort of?

今日は日本語を勉強します
今日、日本語を勉強します

Both seem fine to me, tbh.
Although, they’re “today I will study Japanese” or “today I’m going to study Japanese”, not necessarily “today (right now) I’m studying Japanese”
That would be, “今日、日本語を勉強しています.”
Although it sounds a little weird with the 今日 :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

It depends on what you want to talk about. Do you want to talk about your day, like for example, “Today I study Japanese. Then I’ll go to the park. And then I’ll eat supper. It’s going to be a great day.” Then it would be the first since “today” is your topic.

Or are you talking about yourself as in, “Today I study Japanese. I like to study every day because I love Japanese very much.” Then you’re the topic is “I” and you would use the second with the implied 私は.

1 Like

は marks a topic, in the most fundamental usage of it. So in one case 今日 is the topic of the sentence. In the other, it’s just a relative time indicator.