Ultimate Timeline, is it considered cheating

Hi, I’m new here so I appreciate any expert opinion from you guys.

I just installed the script for ultimate timeline a few days ago, and due to knowing what kanji/vocabulary coming out next, I studied back those words that are unfamiliar to me. As such, I was wondering whether I’m cheating or somewhere along those line.

I really hope that I can improve my kanji, but if it defeats what wanikani want (memorising for long term), I’d rather not use it. For those who use the script, any thoughts?

I use it just to know when the next batches are coming. I set all my bars to the solid blue, so I don’t even know what types of items are included in the coming batches.

Checking what items are coming and reviewing them right before they appear does kind of defeat the purpose of the SRS, which should be obvious. If you waited 2 weeks for something, then review it in the hours before it comes, WK will give you credit for a 2 week gap, but it was really just a few hours.

If you want to review items you’re struggling on, do so after you get them wrong, not before they come.

But it’s up to you, there’s no prize for finishing WK.

12 Likes

Go into the options and disable the display of specific items, I don’t know why it’s set as standard

5 Likes

I do the same as @Leebo so I can plan my day. The only feature I find useful is to know through this fancy visual graph when the next batches are coming.

1 Like

If you review the items right before it really defeats the purpose. I mainly use it to see at what time my current “critical” reviews will pop up. So I look when current level radicals will be up and once I have finished the radicals when the second batch of kanji will come up. I still sometimes look which exact items will be there, to know wether it’s a relevant review session, but I don’t review those items before the review session.

1 Like