Tweeting to somebody to ask for his email

Dear WaniKani worshipers,

Maybe some of you can help on this important matter of mine.

I’m trying to reach out to a Japanese visual artist but cannot find his email anywhere. I know he uses Twitter, and was thinking asking him via a tweet if I could write him an email.

More precisely, I want to ask him if he would be willing to read a letter written in Japanese that introduces a project we would like him to consider working on, “we” being me (the “creator” of the project) and a production house developing the project.

Questions:

1. Does it sound like a “lame”/desperate move? Do people actually do that?

2. How to address him given he’s in his early 50s and is considered a true master in his craft? I’m a beginner in Japanese, I have no idea where to start to try writing the tweet(s).

Your inputs are hugely valuable!

Stay safe :tea:

4 Likes

Before you reach question one, you should seriously consider how much you’d be willing to pay him. If he is considered a true master in his craft, “a lot” would be a good start.

6 Likes

I believe you can direct message people on twitter - why not start there? I don’t know how to answer #2 for you, but for #1, people do this all the time!

2 Likes

Thanks @Belthazar for your interest.

We’re willing to pay what’s necessary. ^^
I must add: it’s not my money!

Money matters are to be dealt with by the production house and possible broadcaster. As a creator you don’t even own your project and have basically no say in all things financial.

First we want to know if the project, creatively, would be of any interest to him.
If so, it would entail further discussions and negotiations, possibly via agents and lawyers.

But the main goal here is really to establish first contact and get him to read the letter.

5 Likes

Thanks @raephe.

Unfortunately I just checked and he does not have “open” DMs.
It’s for every Twitter user to allow or not to receive DM’s from accounts they don’t follow.