Travelling to japan, how to learn in person?

Hello! I am travelling from Korea to Japan for 3 months in late November, and although I have spent over 6 months there already, I have never been since i started learning japanese.

I am not good at japanese speaking or grammar, but i have been trying to keep up with WK whilst I have been in Korea (3 months), I was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to profit from the immersion of being in the country properly. I keep hearing people say living in Japan will fast track learning, but I don’t really know what that means or what i should be doing! ideally i don’t wanna have to spend all my time in japan studying haha

thanks for any advice guys! Also I hope anyone else travelling to Japan this winter has an amazing time and if you see a british guy looking lost u never know it may be me XDD

8 Likes

Big question…

I guess, start with, try to listen. When you go to the combini there’s about 6 questions, do you have a point card? Are you over 20? Do you want this heated up? Do you want chopsticks? Do you want a bag? A new one is how will you pay (now that shock horror, there’s some card options!) It’s easy to be bamboozled and just stand there shaking your head confused. It’s also hard with masks on the and screens sometimes I have misheard and they have pointed to the thing instead of repeating it. Yes I know the Japanese, I just can’t hear a thing you just said. Might be the same in Korea these days.

So be ready for the questions to catch them and be able to reply properly. Bag? Fukuro iranai. Heated up? Kekko desu. Point card? Arimasen.

That’s a good starting point, I guess. Also buying tickets at the counter instead of the machine will give you a chance to work on your from here to there tomorrow by train at around 12pm, how much will it be skills.