Tips for remembering and recollecting vocabulary words

Hi guys,
I have been learning kanji and vocabulary side by side.

For kanji with its pictures and through RTK book I could able to recollect it’s meaning easily ,but still struggling to remember it’s Japanese word/letter part.

Currently I feel I am doing rot memorization for those vocabulary words without any logic I’m afraid I’ll forget those in long run or once I learn more of the vocabulary

My question is

When you were at my stage what strategy and methods you followed to avoid this rot memorization of vocabulary words ?

How you could able to recollect those vocabulary words without pain ?

Some tips and advice would be helpful for me.

Consume level-appropriate content on the side. At your stage, if you are an absolute beginner, that might be restricted to a textbook. But WK doesn’t recommend using it as your sole study resource. You need to reinforce what you see by seeking out material.

Invest the time to learning the basics about stroke order and try writing down a few Kanji to get the feel of it. Having tactile feedback helped me get acquainted with the Kanji/Vocab in a different way. Once you get the hang of it, you can look at even the most complicated Kanji and better see how it is constructed. It will also help get past the initial apprehension upon first seeing complicated Kanji (at least for me it did) because you can see its parts more clearly.

Sometimes when I was burnt out I sat and practiced writing some random words. It’s quite satisfying when you’ve drawn a nice looking Kanji, even if you’re unaware what it means.