Time Management for Grad Students using WK

Right now I have a month off before I start a PhD program so I’m doing WK as much as possible while also reading up on grammar with imabi.net in my spare time so I’m studying the language about 4-5 hours a day now.

Still, next month, and especially then in the Fall I’ll be really busy with grad school (I do science so I’ll be in the lab all the time) so I’m worried about being able to maintain a roughly 10 day levelup time while juggling classes, labwork, and a grad school social life, while still being able to advance my grammar/speaking/listening skills on the side.

Does anyone have any advice for grad school time management?

I’m actually a few years into a PhD in a STEM field myself and, incidentally, at the same point in WK as you. Funny how that works out…

I study Genki with a few other grad students in my department twice a week (for an hour) and we’ve been going maybe a bit over half as fast as a taught class, which to us seems like a reasonable pace. We all recently started WK and I’ve also been personally planning ~10 days per level myself. I think having others around to casually practice speaking with here and there has been really helpful in having the knowledge stick, so maybe consider bringing it up to others when you start your program.

Coursework is quite a time sink, but it lightens up a ton once you’re done with it. Even then though, expect to have somewhat less time available. I can’t say about my friends, but I’m definitely not spending 4-5 hours/day on Japanese. Don’t be surprised if you need to slow down a bit at first, but I’d say it’s definitely workable.

Just don’t aim for the same progression speed. You’ll burn yourself out and you’ll feel bad if you make your hobby into a job/obligation.