Thank You and Goodbye WaniKani

It’s been more than a year since I started studying Japanese and WK. What started out as a random combinations of symbols began to become more and more comprehensible thanks to WK. I couldn’t imagine myself being able to read Kanji without the help of WK, and for that I am really really grateful. However, there comes a day that I have to leave its structured regimen and start something that’s more suitable for me.

During the early levels, from 1 - 30’s, was the time when I got the most from WK because I often get an “aha” moment when I encounter the Kanji or vocab that I just learned in my immersion. It gives an illusion that the universe itself is conspiring to intentionally reveal recently learned Kanji/words in my reading.

However, at about 40’s is when the honeymoon phase ended. Just like how you’ll feel when you wake up to a random girl that you picked up from a night of drinking: disillusionment. This was roughly the time when I started to seriously mine words and expressions. With each volume of manga I finish I get a backlog of 500 to 1,000 words that I’m itching to review in Anki. Plus, with my busy schedule, WK is starting to be a hindrance as I have to adhere to its schedule lest I get more and more behind and I have to review words and Kanji that are no longer relevant to my immersion of choice: Japanese history.

When I caught myself basically not caring whether or not a word sticks with me and have two instances where I just pressed Space and 1 (thanks anki mode for saving my fingers and wrists) just to “finish” reviewing a 200+ item session due to being physically and mentally exhausted is the time that I have to really put an end to this relationship.

In my eyes WK has changed, she seems to have let go of herself and become bloated with words/kanji that I don’t care about. She starts to nag me everyday to do my reviews even though I just want to immerse more and learn more Kanji and words that I care about.