Techie translations

So, for additional listening practice, I set XCode so the build started and build success announcements are made by Kyoko, the Japanese voice. But I have no idea what she is saying! Are there any devs here who use this feature and can translate?

2 Likes

XCode talks when the build finishes? That’s weird.

It can be set to do so. From “XCode” -> “Preferences…” -> “Behaviors” -> select an event and check the box "Speak announcement using: " and set the voice to use. Now, the drop down just give the voice names, to find out what voice is which language use the terminal and type: say -v ?

Here is a recording of the build start announcement (if this works, I’m not a SoundCloud expert exactly):

1 Like

Lol, sounds like ビルド “startito” (however you would type that) to me.

Are you sure it is Japanese, not just using Kyoko to read an english text?

lol yeah sounds like she’s just reading “build started” in katakana; ビルドスターティド

It wouldn’t surprise me to find that technical terms are largely English-derived loan words, but no, I don’t think it’s just a Japanese voice reading English words.

Here is what she says when the build succeeds:

Any help @mamimumason

1 Like

Haha, yes I could have guessed that that is “build succeeded” even without the hint :wink:

Sure, there are a lot of loan words but wouldn’t “build started” be something like “ビルドの開始”?

I don’t know where to upload an audio file quickly but if you let Kyoko say “build started” and “build succeeded” then it will sound exactly like this.

Edit:
“build succeeded”: https://vocaroo.com/i/s0z0ISQxmjIx
“build started”: https://vocaroo.com/i/s1Wzsr1eXWvj

You could be right. If so: that’s really really useless.

1 Like

True. But I found it quite funny at least. :wink: