Summer Manga Recommendations

trying my hand at making an uncomplicated thread for once :sweat_smile:

I’m looking for some short and summer-y manga series to read! I’m pretty new to reading manga so my knowledge about various series is quite sparse. But in the same vein as reading beach novels, I was hoping someone might be able to provide recommendations for some “beach manga”* that I can devour over the next few weeks/months. *having a beach theme is not actually necessary

It can be any genre (romance, mystery, sci-fi, etc.), but ideally I’d like it to be something that gives you the feeling of summer when you read it :desert_island: I’m also not looking for something with stacks of volumes - under 20 chapters would be great!

For bartering purposes, my own recommendation of a warm summer manga to anyone who might be looking for the same thing is Ano Hana/The Flower We Saw That Day [link] :sunflower:. It’s about a boy who sees the ghost of an old friend quite suddenly because she has a request to make - except she can’t remember what the request was! It has 13 chapters/3 volumes and furigana. It’ll make you laugh and (if you’re a baby like me) give you a very satisfying cry toward the end.

I might also recommend the 君の名は manga for similar reasons (3 volumes, furigana) but having seen the movie and knowing what was going to happen kinda ruined the reading experience for me :sweat_smile:

:pray: Please drop any recommendations you might have! I’m excited to read more manga!

8 Likes

I’m not sure I could define what a “summer-y” manga feels like, but perhaps these:

I read and enjoyed both of those. Three volumes each, 21 and 20 chapters.

4 Likes

Oh gosh, I saw 徒然日和 on the shelves at my bookstore this afternoon, I’ll definitely go back and check it out!