Studying the WK vocab on my own time

Hello there,

I have been doing WK for the last 3 months, and currently about to finish up level 5. It took me about a month to finish level 2-4, because of school and work, but now that I am home more often, I am looking to finish level 5 in two weeks. One of my main motivations is to pass the N5 exam in December, potentially skipping the N5 and trying a chance at the N4. With that being said, I feel like I could progress through levels faster if I studied on by own, but I know that WK has its own way to giving the user vocabulary in increments. Is studying the words on my own counter intuitive, and potentially harmful, to the programs mission?

Thanks,
Los

whoops I’m sorry for how long this is but I wanted to make sure I was at least a little bit helpful…

The short answer is yes, it will, but it can be a bit more complex than that. WK is based off of the SRS method, which regulates what I think of as study exposure (as opposed to seeing it in the wild). If you were to study them on your own time, you would be essentially changing the SRS intervals as you’re studying the vocab closer to when you’re seeing them again in WK. This sorta defeats the purpose of having the intervals in the first place, which attempt to cement the word/phrase/etc into your long-term memory. You might progress them faster, but then the word may not stick in your head and that’s not helpful.