Study Log of a Wild Eoame 🐺

\color{gold}\text{Why, welcome, you've stumbled upon my study log!}

I’ve been meaning to create one for a while now. As of today it has been exactly 11 months since I started learning more Japanese than the hiragana alphabet.

I plan to use this as a place where I can look back and see my progress, log my studies and set goals for the future to work towards.

Progress since the start — timeline of sorts

End of 2017 — Learned the hiragana alphabet.
2019 — Learned how to introduce myself.
Start of 2020 — Memorised katakana.
June 2020 — This is when I started learning Japanese for real. Memorised many key words. Did some grammar and could string sentences together.
July 2020 — Started listening to Let’s Learn Japanese from Small Talk podcast regularly. (could only pick out a few words)
September 2020 — Discovered Wanikani! Also started Genki 2.
October 2020 — Started reading NHK Easy News. As with the podcast, could only understand some parts.
December 2020 — Could write sentences fairly easily. Immersion became part of my everyday study.
January 2021 — Started reading Doggy Detectives Book 2 with the WK book club.
April 2021 — First online tutor session. My speaking skill was almost inexistent. Finished reading Doggy Detectives Book 2. Started 魔女の宅急便。Also began vocabulary memorisation again after a long while.
May 2021 — Started reading からかい上手の高木さん with the WK book club.
July 2021 — Finished からかい上手の高木さん, also began and finished reading the second volume. Passed a mock N4 exam.
August 2021 — Completed more than ten tutor sessions. Could hold a conversation but not on complex topics, and speaking was not all that natural.
September 2021 — WK anniversary! Level 36. Didn’t do any lessons for the whole month to work on leeches.
December 2021 — Reached the halfway point of 魔女の宅急便. Finished Genki. Made it to Level 42 in WK! I can hold a simple conversation easily but still struggle with more complicated topics. Also began 銭天堂.