Should I start with TextFugu or wait for EtoEto?

Hey guys,

I just started learning Japanese with the tofugu.com Kana-Guides and WaniKani, but am planning further steps to become better! As the next step will be learning about grammar, I had a look at TextFugu and wondered if I should start learning with this tool or wait for the updated version EtoEto…

As I am unsure when EtoEto will be released and the first month of TextFugu is for free anyway, I wonder if someone using those resources can share their opinion on this! :slight_smile:

Thank you very much and please excuse my language (>.<)

EtoEto has some development problems and has no ETA yet (afaik). So I’d recommend TextFugu and investing in a good textbook like Genki to start with.

6 Likes

Okay, wow, thank you for your fast reply! :smiley: Is Genki your no. 1 choice? I was looking through some Japanese books, but they all seem to aim to get you to N5 (or higher) JLPT Level, could this be a good alternative aswell? :slight_smile:

I haven’t used it myself so I could be totally off-base, but I feel like I’ve seen a number of comments on these forums to the effect that TextFugu is not really worth it. I think the later chapters/levels/whatever they are are a bit unfinished?

It came out years ago, so I think the general consensus is that it no longer has the novelty of being an “online textbook! WOW!” that it had originally.

But… like I say, I could be totally wrong :sweat_smile:

EDIT: that’s not to contradict the comments regarding EtoEto, by the way - it’s unfinished and looks like it will take 37 years to be finished, so…

4 Likes

I faced the same dilemma and decided to just get started with Genki. It seems to be well regarded here (and in other places as well) and I got the impression that it’ll probably still take quite some time before EtoEto is released.

3 Likes