Setting a personal goal for year's end

So I’m trying to set myself a specific goal to aim for. I’m currently working my way through Wanikani at level 3 (obviously) and also working my way through Bunpro. Still fairly early in N5. For my goal, I would LIKE to be able to play through Pokémon Sword and Shield (which I’ve never played) by the end of the year and not have too much difficulty. I DO NOT expect to know every single kanji or bit of vocabulary, nor every single grammar set I encounter and I’m sure I would have to keep a dictionary handy.

That being said, is this a realistic goal or should I consider adjusting it?

4 Likes

I don’t know about Sword/Shield specifically, but I managed to play through Omega Ruby a while back without having too much trouble understanding most of it. I started studying Japanese last August, so assuming those games have similar difficulty levels, I think it’s certainly a realistic goal. :grin:

2 Likes

I assume that is bunpro right?

Yes! Sorry. Fixed

1 Like

No problem

Mainline Pokémon games are generally easy to brute-force one’s way through. This you can do even if you set it to a language you can’t even read (let alone understand).

Some considerations:

Kana Mode vs Kanji Mode

Pokémon games let you choose between kana only (no kanji), or with kanji. There’s no furigana option, so if you go with kanji, you’re going all-in. (You can change this setting from the menu.)

Chances are the kanji used will be generally similar to Alpha Sapphire, which I’ve done a kanji analysis for:

Screenshot_20210526_165438

(I believe this was based only on dialogue, and does not include PokéDex entries.)

Once you complete WaniKani level 20, you should be able to recognize about 80% of the kanji used. However, some of those kanji will be in words with other kanji you haven’t learned yet.

Grammar

You mentioned you’re early on in N5 grammar, but there’s something very important to know about grammar: