Self taught new user

Hello, I live in Tokyo since January and I’m taking Japanese conversation classes twice a week. I’m also trying different methods to memorize kanji and vocaboulary.

Problem: I already encountered some kanji, probably more than 100, of which I know well maybe 50… but there doesn’t seem to be a way to skip first lessons or customize the groups. At least, I couldn’t find it.

You’re right, it’s not possible. Please read the FAQ and the Guide.

7 Likes

The free levels cover about 100 kanji, so yes, you’ll likely be reviewing many things you already know in that process. But you’re also likely to see vocab you don’t know yet, because of the nature of kanji vocab, so give the free levels a try.

4 Likes

Welcome mate.
Give it a shot with free levels.

2 Likes

I think the majority of users here were in your same situation. They tried learning kanji the old way, and after plenty of books and used pens later, they came to wanikani. Enjoy the easy levels while it last, it won’t take long before your accuracy drops from 100%.

2 Likes

So yeah, I was in a similar situation when I started a few weeks ago, I would actually count me in the 200 hundred or so kanji range and familiar with almost all the 50 most frequent radicals. The thing I discovered was that what I knew was full of holes. it wasn’t all new information, but I’m glad I went through the first three levels in their entirety. So I’d say: keep going. And don’t worry, the first two levels can be completed in less than a week without much trouble.

7 Likes

Then maybe I’ve got a bug… After one week I’m still stuck at the radicals, which I’ve been doing perfectly for some time. The kanji lessons are still locked.