Scaling the 6583 review wall - Once more unto the breach!

Leech Review VI

vocab	障る To Irritate さわる
kanji	戚 Relatives せき
vocab	勢い Force いきおい
vocab	吐き出す To Spit Out はきだす
vocab	得体 Character えたい
vocab	異常 Abnormal いじょう
vocab	狂う To Go Mad くるう
vocab	閉じる To Shut とじる
kanji	奴 Dude ど
vocab	追う To Chase おう
vocab	想定 Hypothesis そうてい
vocab	叱る To Scold しかる
vocab	惑う To Be Misguided まどう
vocab	遺跡 Ruins いせき
vocab	装置 Equipment そうち
vocab	収まる To Fit Inside おさまる
vocab	縁 Edge ふち
vocab	従兄弟 Cousin いとこ
vocab	軍艦島 Battleship Island ぐんかんじま
vocab	似合う To Suit にあう
vocab	嫌悪 Disgust けんお
vocab	暴れる To Act Violently あばれる
vocab	試合 Game しあい
vocab	添える To Append そえる
vocab	景況 Business Climate けいきょう
vocab	措置 Measures そち
vocab	貿易 Trade ぼうえき
vocab	命 Life いのち
vocab	大会 Convention たいかい
vocab	先程 A While Ago さきほど

Another frustrating day.

Sat Sep 11 2021:
Time spent: 21m
Reviews completed: 75
Reviews remaining: 4996
Reviews in next week: 5226 (+230)
Accuracy: 69.33% (52/75)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 87.50% (35/40)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 48.57% (17/35)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3092
Guru: 1160
Master: 417
Enlightened: 984
Burned 1370

Wow, despite all the reviews I did today, my counts for Apprentice, Guru, and Master all ended up on the exact same number they started at. That’s a pretty strange coincidence.

Sun Sep 12 2021:
Time spent: 21m
Reviews completed: 68
Reviews remaining: 4998
Reviews in next week: 5234 (+236)
Accuracy: 72.06% (49/68)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 94.44% (34/36)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 46.88% (15/32)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3092
Guru: 1160
Master: 417
Enlightened: 980
Burned 1374

1 Like

it’s cool to see that you’ve got the tenacity to keep on keeping on. especially as i think you’re doing this in just about the hardest way possible.

myself, i built up a 1600 item review pile in late spring/early summer. and at first i tried to brute force it, like you. it was incredibly frustrating, and i was going nowhere (indeed, the pile was growing with more items getting ready to be burned).

so i decided to eat my own words, and as i’d suggested to you, use a re-order script. i’m reordering by srs level, and have worked my way through all the reviews below enlightened, including ones i’ve done multiple times as they’ve been dropping and climbing through the levels. i still have some 700 burns waiting, which i’m digging through bit by bit. but besides that i’m able to use WK in it’s intended form again, even doing lessons.

i truly admire your tenacity. but i feel like you’ve chosen the hardest strategy.

Mon Sep 13 2021:
Time spent: 30m
Reviews completed: 80
Reviews remaining: 4999
Reviews in next week: 5235 (+236)
Accuracy: 71.25% (57/80)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 88.10% (37/42)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 52.63% (20/38)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3096
Guru: 1156
Master: 419
Enlightened: 971
Burned 1381

2 Likes

By sheer coincidence, the amount of time I had to spend doing reviews in order to keep my review count under 5000 was exactly 30 minutes for the second day in a row.

Also, I hit a new milestone today: burned = enlightened + master.

Tue Sep 14 2021:
Time spent: 30m
Reviews completed: 81
Reviews remaining: 4999
Reviews in next week: 5218 (+219)
Accuracy: 70.37% (57/81)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 81.58% (31/38)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 60.47% (26/43)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3095
Guru: 1154
Master: 423
Enlightened: 964
Burned 1387

3 Likes

Wed Sep 15 2021:
Time spent: 24m
Reviews completed: 78
Reviews remaining: 4999
Reviews in next week: 5198 (+199)
Accuracy: 75.64% (59/78)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 91.89% (34/37)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 60.98% (25/41)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3094
Guru: 1158
Master: 424
Enlightened: 954
Burned 1393

2 Likes

I was sick today, and did pretty badly.

Thu Sep 16 2021:
Time spent: 17m
Reviews completed: 61
Reviews remaining: 4999
Reviews in next week: 5193 (+194)
Accuracy: 60.66% (37/61)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 77.42% (24/31)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 43.33% (13/30)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3092
Guru: 1160
Master: 427
Enlightened: 949
Burned 1395

1 Like

Oh hey @l_l, been a while xd

I was thinking how did you fare having raced through WaniKani last year and are you still keeping at Japanese, so when I saw this thread I knew something was up :stuck_out_tongue:

Truth to be told, I’ve enabled Vacation Mode on my account and if I didn’t I’d probably have a wall just like you, but yeah, the retention is not that great. Not planning on unvacationing myself yet though!

Very nice to see you going through this wall of reviews, one could call it inspiring, but I know first hand how much hell it is xd

Keep at it, I’m always very interested in seeing people actually grind through the characters :smiley:

2 Likes

I tried to do enough reviews to keep my count under 5000, but missed by one.

Fri Sep 17 2021:
Time spent: 18m
Reviews completed: 52
Reviews remaining: 4998
Reviews in next week: 5195 (+197)
Accuracy: 75.00% (39/52)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 85.19% (23/27)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 64.00% (16/25)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3092
Guru: 1157
Master: 431
Enlightened: 947
Burned 1396

4 Likes

As another fascinated bystander rooting for your success, I have a question. What is your logic behind how much time you spend reviewing per day? From the outside looking in I think to myself, “wouldn’t it make more of a dent to do two of these sessions per day instead of just one?” but of course I have no idea what your schedule is like or what your long term goal/plan is with your WaniKani journey & other studies. I realize this may sound like a judgment, but honestly I am just curious :slightly_smiling_face: I certainly admire your tenacity! I struggle with being so consistent. ファイト!

1 Like

A lot of it depends on how I’m feeling.

On a typical day, I’ll do one review session in the morning, where I keep going until I get frustrated or tired enough to stop, and then do the same in the afternoon.

Of course, there are other factors, like overall motivation and whether I have a goal in sight. If I’m feeling optimistic about WK, or fell short of my goals, I’ll often do more review sessions. A different example was Thursday, when I was very sick, but still wanted to keep my review count under 5000, so I ended up doing no less than five sessions, all just 3-4 minutes each.

I think the main factors leading to me doing fewer reviews lately are a) the reviews have gotten a lot harder on average leading me to quit earlier and b) not having a particular goal to motivate me beyond keeping my review count under 5000.

A contributing factor to a) is that I’m burning a lot less than before because there are a lot less easy enlightened reviews left to burn in the first place. I think earlier, burning items could keep me motivated during a difficult review session, but that rarely happens nowadays. You may notice how the burned count is going up a lot less than it used to.

2 Likes

Leech Review VII

Only 24 leeches failed this time. I even managed to get right some of the top leeches from the last couple weeks of leech reviews.


vocab	勢い Force いきおい
vocab	得体 Character えたい
vocab	狂う To Go Mad くるう
kanji	奴 Dude ど
vocab	追う To Chase おう
vocab	惑う To Be Misguided まどう
vocab	遺跡 Ruins いせき
vocab	収まる To Fit Inside おさまる
vocab	縁 Edge ふち
vocab	似合う To Suit にあう
vocab	添える To Append そえる
vocab	景況 Business Climate けいきょう
vocab	涙 Tears なみだ
kanji	嘆 Sigh たん
vocab	用意 Preparation ようい
vocab	遠慮する To Decline えんりょする
kanji	埋 Bury まい
vocab	捜索 Search そうさく
vocab	監視 Observation かんし
kanji	示 Indicate じ
vocab	湯豆腐 Boiled Tofu ゆどうふ
vocab	汚れる To Get Dirty よごれる
vocab	先程 A While Ago さきほど
vocab	尋ねる To Inquire たずねる

I did a lot better today than usual. I even managed to burn four items, and there’s one more I almost burned (I actually knew the right answer but outsmarted myself trying to guess which reading WK expected for the kanji and got it wrong).

Sat Sep 18 2021:
Time spent: 19m
Reviews completed: 59
Reviews remaining: 4999
Reviews in next week: 5188 (+189)
Accuracy: 76.27% (45/59)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 89.29% (25/28)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 64.52% (20/31)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3092
Guru: 1158
Master: 430
Enlightened: 943
Burned 1400

One interesting thing I’ve noticed is that a few of the words where I remember being frustrated by terrible mnemonics my first time through last year now have much better mnemonics.

Two particular examples I’ve noticed are 預かる and 退く.

@phairyn-rose

The One Day Mega Challenge

After the comment yesterday, I decided to try challenging myself to do as many Wanikani reviews as I could in one day today to show everyone how that works.

I ended up doing an absurd cumulative 2.5 hours of reviews. This consisted of no less than sixteen sessions throughout the day (lengths 11, 3, 9, 6, 16, 10, 6, 9, 7, 9, 6, 14, 7, 11, 9. and 14 minutes respectively).

I hope this helps illustrate my explanation yesterday. The length of a session depends largely on how well I do as well as how I’m feeling, etc. If I miss a lot of reviews, I’ll give up early, and likewise if I’m feeling tired or impatient.

However, even when a review session is going great and I’m feeling fine (like the 14 and 16 minute sessions above, among others), I’ll still have to cut it off before long because simply doing reviews is mentally exhausting after a while, even when you get most of them right.

Other fun facts: I did some many reviews that I’m now at the point where I could do no reviews at all for the next six days and still have my review count stay under 5000! This is more impressive than it sounds because when I “sprint” like this, the review count immediately bounces back to almost as high as it was before afterwards.

The majority of reviews end up at Apprentice level, which means they’ll come up for review again within the next two days at the latest, and that means that doing a massive amount of reviews at once like today just means you’ll get an equally big pile of reviews incoming in the next two days that almost brings you back to where you started. For example, I now have +175 reviews coming due tomorrow and an additional +105 reviews on Tuesday.

Additionally, I normally have a rule about never doing reviews after 7pm, but today I ignored that for the sake of the challenge and did reviews late into the night (the last session ended at 9:50pm.)

Sun Sep 19 2021:
Time spent: 147m
Reviews completed: 456
Reviews remaining: 4641
Reviews in next week: 5059 (+418)
Accuracy: 73.68% (336/456)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 85.43% (211/247)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 59.81% (125/209)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3078
Guru: 1165
Master: 442
Enlightened: 917
Burned 1421

5 Likes

After the marathon yesterday, I expected to go back to just being stomped by WK all the time. However, my review session this morning went amazingly well, one of the best of the last couple weeks.

7 Likes

my god, i looked at the items you’ve answered incorrectly, got 哲、滑 and 外面 and absolutely nothing else xd

i fear of turning off the vacation mode so hard xd
Also, congrats on a new fresh batch of burns!

I’m sure you’ll keep doing great!
Keep on going! :DDD

3 Likes

Mon Sep 20 2021:
Time spent: 26m
Reviews completed: 77
Reviews remaining: 4749
Reviews in next week: 5044 (+295)
Accuracy: 77.92% (60/77)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 91.89% (34/37)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 65.00% (26/40)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3076
Guru: 1165
Master: 439
Enlightened: 917
Burned 1426

2 Likes

Today went badly. I guess my luck had to run out some time.

Tue Sep 21 2021:
Time spent: 15m
Reviews completed: 49
Reviews remaining: 4829
Reviews in next week: 5040 (+211)
Accuracy: 61.22% (30/49)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 88.89% (16/18)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 45.16% (14/31)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3083
Guru: 1160
Master: 439
Enlightened: 912
Burned 1429

1 Like