Ri's study log 🍡🍥💕

Hi everyone,

I’m Ri, I’m from the UK, and I started learning Japanese as a new year’s resolution in Jan 2023. I have had a bit of an uphill battle with it so far, and I wanted a place where I can record my ramblings and sound off to like-minded people. One of the hardest things I’ve found about learning Japanese (or, attempting to learn Japanese and floundering) is that none of my friends speak the language at all. I have lots of friends who speak Spanish, but that doesn’t really help :sweat_smile:. Anyways, today I thought I would start a study log that I can (hopefully) fill in most weeks, with this first log providing some background on my journey so far.

• I started learning Japanese basics through the Tofugu webpages, which led me to WK. I signed up and started to go through the levels slowly but surely. I started watching a lot more anime at this time and was always looking out for easy to understand works (the one that I have been able to pick the most up from so far is Sailor Moon, because a lot of phrases are repeated every episode).
  • May 2023: I really fell off the Japanese train at this point icl. I was in my final year of my undergrad and swamped with dissertation work, and I was such a broke student so I felt it wasn’t the right time to commit to WK just yet. I basically stopped practising Japanese for around 3 months last year, but continued to watch anime as I enjoyed it so much.
  • September 2023: I moved to start studying my postgrad and pulled myself together and got some goals in place. I made a commitment to practise my Japanese 3 times a week and used a few apps (like “Japanese”, the one with the red cover) and continued to use anime to help. This was all really useful for grammar and such but I still felt stuck as a constant and neverending beginner.